2008 Cannes Film Festival

The French Embassy has invited 14 South Africans to attend the sixty-first Cannes Film Festival from 14 to 25 May 2008. They are Nashen Moodley, director of the Durban International Film festival, Ramadam Suleman, filmmaker, Angelita Mills, producer, Darrell Roodt, filmmaker, Christoph Ebner, filmmaker, Kgomotso Matsunyane, producer, Bridget Pickering, producer, Venantia Otto, actress, Teddy Mattera, filmmaker, Peter Rorvik of the Centre for Creative Arts at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, Nadia Neophytou of Talk Radio 702, Volker Röder of the Windhoek International Film Festival, Clea Mallinson who was the winner in the cinema category in the 2008 francophonie competition and Jean-Xavier Dubois, producer.

South African films, including ‘Triomf’ by Michael Raeburn and ’Zimbabwe’ by Darrell Roodt, will be shown at the Pavillion for Cinema of the South. The filming of ’Triomf’ was made possible with financial support from the French Ministry of Culture.

On Saturday, 17 May, a ’Journée Afrique du Sud’ will be hosted by the Ministry of Culture to discuss South African cinema and its involvement in the Cannes Film Festival.

The Cannes Film Festival festival, which started in 1948, remains the foremost film festival in the world where films are viewed and sold on an international market.

Website of the Pavillon des Cinémas du Sud: http://www.lescinemasdusud.org/

Website of the Cannes film festival: http://www.festival-cannes.fr/en.html

publie le 19/08/2008

top of the page