Departure of the French Government scholarship holders

On Friday 15 July 2016, the Embassy of France and Campus France in South Africa hosted a briefing session for the 22 French Government scholarship holders who will be pursuing their studies in France from September onwards.

Having passed a rigorous selection process, the 2016 cohort will leave for France next month.

Ncamisile Khanyile, Khanyisa Matika, Phumudzo Mufamadi, Ioana Branga-Peicu, Tlangi Ngwenya, Olwethu Ngwanya, David Moorcroft, Emanuel Shungube, Vukile Nonjola, Vhonani Mulaudzi, Janse (DJ) Van Rensburg, Habafanoe Polaki, Alice McGrath, Lesogo Voster, Amukelani Shilubane, Khangelani Chester Mbekela, Pierre Leonard Le Roux, Nchaupe Motshwane, Johan Pretorius, Anja Gendenhuys, Allister Pillay and Sandile Mathenjwa will pursue their studies in different French cities and universities: Ecole des Mines (Nantes), Sciences Po, the University of Paris I, the University of Paris-Saclay, University of Auvergne, University of Toulouse 1, University of Rennes 1, Gobelins (Paris), ISA-Lille, University of Clergy-Pontoise, European Business school (Paris), University of Western Brittany (UBO), IESEG school of management, Grenoble School of Management and the University of Paris 12 (UPEC).


This briefing session, held at the Alliance Française in Pretoria, was jointly organized by Campus France and the Cooperation and Cultural Action Department of the Embassy. The students got to know each other and learned about France, French politics, French culture and student mobility abroad. They also obtained practical information to prepare for their stay in France.

The Alliance Française gave the students a French lesson and Ms Hélène Bezuidenhoudt from Atout France (tourist information) also joined them in the afternoon. A representative from St. Gobain spoke to the students about possible internship opportunities after their studies in France.

The new scholarship holders also had the opportunity of getting first-hand information from two alumni - Nolundi Walaza and Amandla Mjolo - French government scholarship holders 2012-2013, who told them about their “French experience” and gave them valuable advice.

They also had the opportunity to meet Ambassador of France to South Africa, HE Elisabeth Barbier.

  • For more information about the French Embassy’s scholarship programmes, click here.

publie le 19/07/2016

top of the page