French language facts

French language is an official language in 54 countries for more than 200 million people. Most native speakers of the language live in France, Belgium, Switzerland, Canada, Francophone Africa, Luxembourg, and Monaco.

In Francophone Africa, French language is widely used in Algeria, Benin, Comores, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, Senegal, Islamic Republic of Mauritania, French Guinea, Republic of Niger, Rwanda, Togolese Republic, Ivory Coast, Central African Republic, Djibouti, Republic of Chad, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Madagascar,Gabonese Republic, Republic of Mali, Seychelles islands, Egypt, Morocco, Tunisia and Mauritius.


French language is an official language for numerous international organizations that include the United Nations (UN), the European Union (EU), NATO, Interpol, the World Trade Organization (WTO), the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA), the International Organization for Standardization and the International Olympic Committee (IOC). In the European Union (UE), French is the third most spoken language after English and German.

Canadian French, African and European French have identical rules of grammar, but expressions and pronunciation are quite distinct. A French translator from France should be used if your target is Francophone Africa or France, a Canadian one if you are marketing to Canada. Texts translated from French to English will contract by around 15%, French to English translations will expand by 15%. French language uses different punctuation rules, for example the use of a space before question, exclamation and colon marks.

publie le 04/01/2016

top of the page